Week Three Inspection

April 28, 2012

The queen! The yellow dot helped us spot her. I’m glad I paid the five bucks to have her marked.

We saw the queen today! She was on a frame that only had some comb drawn last week, but now has eggs. Of course, after I replaced the frame I worried all day about whether or not I had squished her.

I have a new frame lifter, but I’m not sure I like it. The prongs poke into the upper cells, which seems rude since the bees spent time and energy filling it. And it’s a little hard to keep a good grip on it. On the other hand, it does make it easier to lower the frame back into place without getting the fingers of my gloves trapped between the frame and the hive body.

Hial took some really amazing photos today. Since they’re digital, I’ve zoomed in on some so we can see the bees better, like the queen photo above and two others on this page. It’s such a thrill to be able to look in the hive.

Queen

The queen in a newly-drawn frame. She’s towards the left.

This frame is gorgeous! I’m so thrilled they are doing so well.

There’s so much going on here. I’m still trying to figure it all out. There’s capped nectar (or syrup, since I’m still feeding them), capped brood, and larvae.

I don’t know what these girls are working on, but they are deep in concentration.

Check out all the larvae!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

